Skip to main content

National Council

The National Council is the representative body for social, economic, professional and local interests. In terms of state functions performed by state authorities, the National Council cannot be considered to be vested with legislative, executive or judicial powers.

However, its responsibilities show that it operates within the legislative branch, as it may propose to the National Assembly the adoption of laws and may require the National Assembly to decide again on a given law prior to its promulgation (veto).

It is composed of 40 members, of which there are four representatives of employers, four representatives of employees, four representatives of farmers, crafts and trades, and independent professions, six representatives of non-commercial fields and twenty-two representatives of local interests. It is composed of two major categories of representatives: representatives of labour and social interests and representatives of local interests.

In contrast to deputies of the National Assembly, members of the National Council are elected for a term of five years. The terms of the two state authorities do not coincide, but overlap to ensure the continuity of their joint operation.