Skip to content

Regular duties

As of 29 January 2020, the Government is performing its regular duties. Clarification of the Government Office for Legislation

  • The Government took note of the corona virus situation in the People’s Republic of China and decided to send the People’s Republic of China, on the basis of a request submitted through the European Union Civil Protection Mechanism, material assistance in the form of protective masks, cover 25% of transport costs (to the maximum amount of 20,000 EUR), and grant a contribution of 60,000 EUR to the World Health Organisation (WHO) for emergency humanitarian aid.

  • Today, the Court of Justice of the European Union in Luxembourg delivered its judgment on the admissibility of the Slovenian action against Croatia for infringements of EU law resulting from Croatia’s refusal to implement the Arbitral Award on the border between the countries declaring that it lacks jurisdiction to rule on the action.

  • Prime Minister Marjan Šarec has announced he is stepping down in a bid to push for a snap election, saying he could not achieve what he set out to do with the current minority coalition.


  • The Government adopted a nomination of the buildings and urban development works of Jože Plečnik in Ljubljana for inclusion in UNESCO’s World Heritage List

    The Government adopted a nomination of the buildings and urban development works of Jože Plečnik in Ljubljana for inclusion in UNESCO’s World Heritage List. The Government entrusted the Ministry of Culture with the implementation of activities and coordination of procedures for the preparation and submission of the Nomination File, which is the responsibility of the Republic of Slovenia as a signatory of the Convention Concerning Protection of World Cultural and Natural Heritage. The Government instructed the Ministry of Foreign Affairs to present the Nomination File for the inscription on the UNESCO World Heritage Lists to the UNESCO World Heritage Centre in Paris by 31 January 2020 at the latest.

  • 56th regular session of the Government of the Republic of Slovenia

    At it's session, the Government adopted the wording of the proposed Court of Audit Act, which facilitates the auditing of the correct and prudent use of public funds and increases its efficiency. The act also expands the range of entities that may be audited by the court.

  • Achievements in 2019 and Priorities in 2020 under the Šarec Government

    2019 is drawing to a close. Since the end of the year is a good opportunity to look back at what has been accomplished and what lies ahead for Slovenia, we have compiled a list of the key achievements in the recent period and the priorities going ahead.

  • Arbitration

    As Slovenia and Croatia had not managed to resolve their dispute concerning the border on land and sea despite numerous attempts, on 4 November 2009, they signed the Arbitration Agreement establishing an Arbitral Tribunal.

  • SFRY Succession

    Under the auspices of the international community Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Macedonia and the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia – today Serbia signed the Agreement on succession issues by which it was conclusively confirmed that five sovereign equal successor states were formed upon the dissolution of the former SFRY.