Skip to main content

The Supreme Court is the highest authority among state judicial authorities, adjudicating at third instance on regular legal remedies against the decisions of courts of second instance and, as a rule, on extraordinary legal remedies against final decisions of courts.

At first instance, it decides on administrative and auditing-administrative disputes, except in cases which, pursuant to law, fall within the jurisdiction of another court of first instance. In addition to substantive decision-making in judicial proceedings, the Constitutional Court decides on jurisdictional disputes between lower courts and on the transfer of jurisdiction to another court. The Supreme Court’s responsibilities also include establishing the uniform case-law of courts in Slovenia.

Due to the importance of the decisions it adopts, the Supreme Court, as a rule, decides in a panel of three judges. When so provided by law, it decides in a panel of five judges and in certain cases in a panel of seven judges.

The number of judges of the Supreme Court is decided by the Judicial Council. The number of judicial posts is 43. Supreme Court judges are elected by the National Assembly on the proposal of the Judicial Council.

The President of the Supreme Court of the Republic of Slovenia is appointed by the National Assembly on the proposal of the Minister of Justice.