Skip to main content

Constitutional Court

The Constitutional Court is the highest body of judicial power for the protection of constitutionality, legality, and human rights and fundamental freedoms. It is an independent and autonomous constitutional body which does not fall within the classical concept of separation of powers, as it has special powers compared to other courts performing a judicial function.

The key powers of the Constitutional Court include the review of the constitutionality of regulations passed by the legislative branch and the review of the constitutionality and legality of regulations passed by the executive branch. The Constitutional Court decides on constitutional complaints stemming from the violation of human rights and fundamental freedoms by individual acts, jurisdictional disputes between the State and local communities and among local communities themselves, and the unconstitutionality of the acts and activities of political parties.

It is composed of nine judges, elected on the proposal of the President of the Republic by the National Assembly. The judges are elected for a term of nine years and may not be re-elected.