Skip to main content

Meeting of the Ministers of Culture of Slovenia and Italy Asta Vrečko and Gennaro Sangiuliano

The focus of the working meeting between the two ministers, who were joined by the Mayors of Nova Gorica and Gorizia Samo Turel and Rodolfo Ziberna, was on the preparations for the European Capital of Culture with the slogan GO! BORDERLESS.

The ministers first met with the mayors and delegations at Trg Evrope (Europe Square), and then continued their talks in the Municipal Palace in Nova Gorica.

Minister Asta Vrečko stressed that the European Capital of Culture 2025 is on the perfect path to show the new potential of the project. She also expressed her satisfaction that both mayors are working very well together on the project. It is a project that connects both Nova Gorica and Gorizia, regions on both sides of the border and, last but not least, two countries that share a common history and culture.

The Italian Minister of Culture Gennaro Sangiuliano stressed that he and his Slovenian counterpart are jointly promoting the European Capital of Culture of Nova Gorica and Gorizia and that they wish to make these two cities an important cultural hub in Europe.

The Mayor of the City Municipality of Nova Gorica Samo Turel presented to the ministers some successful cross-border projects that are already underway in the framework of the preparations for the European Capital of Culture, such as the Visavì Gorizia Dance Festival, the Film City/Cinecittà, the GO! Borderless Opera Lab, and the wish to jointly establish a borderless area in the area of Trg Evrope, which would allow the organisation of cross-border events without duplication of administration and costs. This would be an important step and a model for many other similar areas in Europe.

The ministers also discussed the forthcoming Frankfurt Book Fair, at which Slovenia will be the guest of honour in October, and Italy will take over this position next year. They also discussed the Bologna Children’s Book Fair, where Slovenia will be the guest of honour in 2024.