Skip to main content

Foreign ministers of Slovenia, Croatia and Italy on cooperation in the North Adriatic Sea

In the framework of trilateral cooperation in the North Adriatic Sea, Minister of Foreign Affairs Dr Anže Logar met for the third time with foreign ministers of Croatia Gordan Grlić Radman and of Italy Luigi di Maio in Zaprešić, Croatia. The ministers took stock of the cooperation in the fields of connectivity, the blue economy and environmental protection, and reviewed concrete proposals for further cooperation.

They agreed on the environmental fragility of the North Adriatic Sea, which requires additional protective measures and contingencies in the event of sea accidents. However, the area remains ripe with opportunities for economic development, especially in terms of connectivity of ports and inland infrastructure links. Minister Logar stressed: “The northern Adriatic Sea is crucial for the diversification of oil and gas supply. The LNG terminals in the area must be further developed, especially in view of the sanctions adopted against the Russian Federation due to its aggression against Ukraine.”

During their debate on the situation in Ukraine and relations with the Russian Federation, ministers discussed possible additional measures to stop the Russian military aggression and provide assistance to Ukraine. Another topic on the agenda was a credible European perspective for the Western Balkans, bearing in mind the discussion and the ensuing statement adopted at the EU-Western Balkans Summit held during the Slovenian Presidency of the Council of the EU at Brdo pri Kranju.

The trilateral cooperation between Slovenia, Croatia and Slovenia at the level of foreign ministers was launched in Trieste on 19 December 2020. The second meeting was held at Brdo pri Kranju on 21 April 2021 when ministers signed a joint statement on enhanced cooperation in the North Adriatic. The statement set out the following areas of enhanced cooperation: connectivity, the blue economy and environmental protection.

Joint statement by the foreign ministers of Slovenia, Croatia and Italy in English.