Skip to main content

The Bank of Slovenia is the central bank of the Republic of Slovenia; it is wholly owned by the State but is autonomous as regards its finances and administration.
As a financial institution, it defines, implements and supervises the system of prudential rules for the operation of banks and savings banks in the Republic of Slovenia.

It is responsible for the security of deposits, bank resolution and money supply on the territory of the Republic of Slovenia. Its tasks also include keeping accounts and performing payment transactions for the Republic of Slovenia, state authorities, legal persons governed by public law and banks.

On the day the Republic of Slovenia became a full member of the European Union, the Bank of Slovenia became part of the European System of Central Banks. On 1 January 2007, when the Republic of Slovenia adopted the euro as its currency, the Bank of Slovenia became part of the Eurosystem, within which it implements the joint monetary policy of the Eurosystem, manages official foreign reserves, is responsible for the smooth operation of payment systems and issues euro banknotes.

The governor of the central bank is appointed by the National Assembly.