Skip to main content

The Directorate for European Affairs coordinates Slovenia’s policy on issues related to the work of EU institutions and authorities, particularly in the process of drawing up legislative and other proposals and decisions of the Council of the EU and the European Council, and strengthens bilateral relations with other EU Member States, Western Balkans countries that are not EU members and with Turkey.

It monitors general and institutional affairs, procedures relating to violations of EU law, and Slovenia’s participation in procedures before the Court of Justice and cooperates on legal issues related to EU law. It manages the central information system for the exchange of documents between Slovenia and the EU.

Its responsibilities include strengthening relations with other EU Member States and members of the European Economic Area, preparing materials for inter-governmental and international meetings and visits, and monitoring issues that pertain to relations with these countries and are relevant to the conduct of the comprehensive foreign policy of Slovenia.

It also performs tasks related to Slovenia's bilateral relations with the countries of the Western Balkans that are not EU members and with Turkey and tasks related to monitoring important political topics concerning EU matters and the enlargement process.


  • Europe and the Euro-Atlantic area

    Slovenia is part of the European Union, which is a valuable economic, developmental, political and legal environment, as well as the environment of the values it shares. A staunch supporter of EU enlargement, it maintains close and regular contacts with other EU Member States and is a reliable NATO member.

  • Neighbourhood

    As a Central European and Mediterranean country located at the intersection of three macro-regions – the Alps, the Adriatic and the Danube region – and of Western and Southeast Europe, Slovenia offers a wide range of possibilities for economic, political and cultural cooperation.

  • The Slovenian language in the European Union

    The principle of multilingualism is enshrined in the Union’s legal foundations. Its main aspects are set out in the Treaties, EEC Council (1958) Regulation No 1 and the accession acts of any new Member State that opts for its national language to become one of the EU official languages. Multilingualism is a guarantee of democracy, transparency, and legal certainty for all citizens of the Union.

  • EU technical assistance to third countries

    The EU provides targeted financial assistance to candidate countries, potential candidate countries and partners in support of their efforts to implement political, economic, and institutional reforms.


  • Brexit

    On 29 March 2017, the Government of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (UK) began the process of leaving the European Union (EU). The UK and the EU negotiated the Agreement on the withdrawal of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland from the European Union in October 2019. On 17 October 2019, the European Council endorsed the revised agreement. Following the general election in the UK in December 2019, the UK Parliament endorsed the agreement in January 2020. The European Parliament endorsed it on 29 January 2020.

Departments of the Directorate