Skip to content

The Directorate for Common Foreign and Security Policy is responsible for strengthening bilateral relations, ties and cooperation with the countries of Africa, Asia, the Middle East, North America, Latin America and the Caribbean, South-Eastern and Eastern Europe, the Southern Caucasus, and Oceania. Its responsibilities also include formulating the coordinated foreign and security policy of Slovenia.

It is responsible for furthering Slovenia’s interests within bilateral cooperation and with respect to current challenges in the international community. The Directorate is responsible for the preparation and inter-ministerial coordination of positions on key international issues, the presentation of Slovenia’s positions in the European Union, and the provision of support and advice to the Minister of Foreign Affairs at EU meetings relating to foreign and security policy. It directs the work of six departments to ensure the implementation of foreign policy objectives and provides support to the preparation of key foreign policy documents and strategies.


Departments of the Directorate