Skip to main content

Slovenia will take part in the elections to the European Parliament for the fifth time

From June 6th to 9th, around 370 million Europeans will elect 720 members of the new European Parliament, which is 15 more than the current number. Slovenia will have one more MEP, totaling nine.
An empty hall of the European Parliament, where tables and chairs are lined up one after the other in a circle.

European Parilament | Author kparis - GettyImages/GulliverFilm&Foto

In the elections to the European Parliament in 2004 and 2009, Slovenian voters elected seven MEPs. Upon the adoption of the Lisbon Treaty, Slovenia gained an eighth mandate, and subsequently elected eight MEPs in 2014 and 2019. In the 2024 European Parliament elections, Slovenians will elect nine MEPs, as 12 member states, including Slovenia, will gain additional seats in the Parliament due to the United Kingdom's departure from the EU.

The European Parliament is the only EU institution that European citizens directly elect. The method by which member states choose their representatives for a five-year term is left to each individual country, although there are some common rules. All MEPs are elected through general direct elections, and the distribution of seats is done through a proportional representation system. Elections take place simultaneously in all member states from Thursday to Sunday. Each country chooses its own day for voting, with Slovenia always holding elections on Sundays.

In terms of voting eligibility, in most member states, including Slovenia, full-age citizens can vote in the European elections, while in five countries, individuals under 18 can also vote. These countries are Austria, Belgium, Germany, Greece, and Malta.

In Austria, Belgium, Germany, and Malta, individuals aged at least 16 on the day of the election can vote, while in Greece, those who turn 17 in the year of the election can vote, meaning those born before December 31, 2007 can participate this year.

Voting is mandatory in Belgium, Bulgaria, Luxembourg, and Greece, with penalties for non-participation. Elsewhere, participation is voluntary.

The approximate composition of the European Parliament will be known on Sunday after 23:00 when polling stations across the EU close.

  • European Parliament elections

    From 6 to 9 June 2024, the people of the EU Member States will elect 720 representatives to represent our interests at European level during the next five-year term of the European Parliament. There will now be nine Slovenian Members of the European Parliament (MEPs) in the European Parliament.