Skip to content

Signing of Slovenian-Austrian agreement on new border documents

Today, Dr Marko Rakovec, Acting Director General of the Directorate for International Law and Protection of Interests at the Foreign Ministry of the Republic of Slovenia, and Sigrid Berka, Ambassador of the Republic of Austria to the Republic of Slovenia, signed the Agreement between the Government of the Republic of Slovenia and the Federal Government of the Republic of Austria on new border documents for border sectors I to VII on the common border, prepared by the Permanent Slovenian-Austrian Border Commission.

This act concludes the process of updating the border documents for all 27 border sectors that started in 2010 with the update of border documents for border sectors VIII to XV and XXII to XXVII and proceeded in 2016 with new border documents for sectors XVI to XXI.

Thus, the border documentation for these sectors has been updated, as the annexes of the applicable 1965 treaty were outdated (i.e. description of the border, list of coordinates, and border plan for these sectors). The state border remains unchanged.