Skip to main content

The Department for Eastern Europe, South Caucasus and Central Asia performs tasks concerning Slovenia's bilateral relations and the relations of the European Union with the countries of Eastern Europe, the South Caucasus and Central Asia.

It monitors the internal and foreign policy of these countries and social and other movements that affect their foreign policy and attitude to Slovenia. It collects, processes and produces material, information and analyses. It drafts documents and materials for international and intergovernmental meetings, puts forward initiatives for the contractual arrangement of individual issues, monitors the implementation of treaties with the aforementioned countries, and participates in the expert and analytical processing of the materials that the Ministry sends to other state authorities. It performs tasks related to the coordination of activities in the preparation of umbrella intergovernmental agreements.

It is responsible for the formulation of positions and cooperation in the area of multilateral cooperation between the EU and the region within the European Neighbourhood Policy, particularly for the Eastern Partnership.

It monitors and analyses activities within regional initiatives and organisations (the Eurasian Economic Union, the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS), the Black Sea Synergy, the Organisation of the Black Sea Economic Cooperation (BSEC), the Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO), the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO)) and the activities of the countries of Eastern Europe, the Southern Caucasus and Central Asia in international organisations and associations and in their dealings therewith (the United Nations, the Organization for Security and Co-Operation in Europe, the Council of Europe, NATO, the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC), G8, G20).