Skip to main content

The Department for European Countries performs tasks related to the monitoring, deepening and strengthening of bilateral and multilateral relations with EU Member States and Andorra, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway and Switzerland.

It monitors political, economic and other developments in these countries, drafts documents and materials for intergovernmental and international meetings and visits, puts forward initiatives for the contractual arrangement of individual issues, and monitors the implementation of treaties with the aforementioned countries.

It participates in the expert and analytical processing of the materials that the Ministry sends to other state authorities. It performs tasks related to the coordination of activities in the preparation of umbrella intergovernmental agreements.

It is the coordinating authority responsible for quadrilateral meetings (Slovenia, Austria, Switzerland, Liechtenstein).