Skip to content

Coronavirus disease COVID-19

Current information and instructions are available on the Coronavirus disease COVID-19 website

Ministry of Foreign Affairs Travel Advice: COVID-19

As the probability of infection with COVID-19 remains present, Slovenian citizens wishing to travel abroad are advised to follow the news on the spread of the virus, especially on the planned route, to check the conditions of entry into the country of destination, and to comply with local rules. Slovenian citizens returning from abroad are advised to follow the recommendations of the National Institute of Public Health (NIJZ).

Current information on border crossings, measures at the border upon entry into Slovenia and the lists of countries can be found on the special page Border Crossing.

The Department for North and Latin America and the Caribbean is in charge of Slovenia's bilateral relations and the relations of the European Union with the United States of America, Canada and 33 countries of Latin America and the Caribbean.

It follows the internal and foreign policy of these countries, and social and other developments that affect their foreign policy and their positions on Slovenia and the EU. It collects, produces and analyses materials, information and studies. The Department drafts lines to take for international and other meetings, puts forth initiatives for the conclusion of agreements on specific issues, monitors the implementation of treaties with relevant countries and participates in the drafting of documents that the Ministry submits to other state authorities.

It participates in formulating EU policies on relations with North American, Latin American and Caribbean countries, and coordinates Slovenia’s positions in negotiations on agreements that the EU concludes with particular countries or groups of countries.

It follows the activities of regional organisations and other regional cooperation platforms, such as the Organization of American States (OAS), Community of Latin American and Caribbean States (CELAC), Pacific Alliance (AP), Southern Common Market (MERCOSUR), Association of Caribbean States (ACS) and the Caribbean Community (CARICOM).