Skip to content

Coronavirus disease COVID-19

Current information, instructions and entry restrictions are available on the Coronavirus disease COVID-19 website

Ministry of Foreign Affairs Travel Advice: COVID-19

As the probability of infection with COVID-19 remains present, Slovenian citizens wishing to travel abroad are advised to follow the news on the spread of the virus, especially on the planned route, to check the conditions of entry into the country of destination, and to comply with local rules. Slovenian citizens returning from abroad are advised to follow the recommendations of the National Institute of Public Health (NIJZ).

Current information on border crossings, measures at the border upon entry into Slovenia and the lists of countries can be found on the special page Border Crossing.

The Department is responsible for tasks relating to Slovenian and EU bilateral relations with Asian and Oceanian countries (with the exception of Central Asian countries) in accordance with Slovenian foreign policy guidelines.

It follows the internal development and foreign policy guidelines of these countries, including social and other developments affecting their foreign policy and their relations with Slovenia. It prepares documents and materials for international and interstate meetings and other documents and materials that fall within its field of activity. The Department launches initiatives for the conclusion of agreements on specific issues and monitors the implementation of treaties concluded with the above countries. It participates in the professional processing of materials from its sphere of activity, which the Ministry prepares for other state bodies.

The Department also co-shapes EU policies on relations with Asian countries, Australia, New Zealand and other Oceanian countries.

Special attention is dedicated to Europe-Asia connectivity. In this regard, the Department monitors the 17+1 Initiative, the Belt and Road Initiative and others.

It also monitors the activity of the following regional organisations:

  • Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC),
  • Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN),
  • Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC),
  • Asia-Europe Meeting (ASEM),
  • South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC),
  • Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) and other regional organisations.