Skip to main content

Cooperation Programme Interreg V-A Slovenia-Hungary celebrates European Cooperation Day

  • Government Office for Development and European Cohesion Policy
For the tenth year in a row, events are held under the auspices of the European Commission across Europe to mark the European Cooperation Day. The events aim to highlight the achievements and benefits of cross-border cooperation between EU regions and member states. On Saturday, visitors at the ‘’Picnic of Projects’’ event had the opportunity to see first-hand the results of five cross-border projects that were implemented under the Cooperation Programme Interreg V-A Slovenia-Hungary 2014-2020.

This year’s edition of the celebration of the European Cooperation Day, which is also called the EC Day brings together all European Territorial Cooperation programmes, also known as Interreg programmes. The programmes represent the second pillar of Cohesion Policy and provide a framework for the implementation of joint measures; they encourage regions and member states to work together to tackle regional challenges and foster a balanced economic, social and territorial development. Co-financed by the European Regional Development Fund, hundreds of Interreg projects across the EU search for solutions to cross-border challenges each year. In September, a series of various events take place in different regions in Europe to commemorate the benefits of this cooperation and to highlight the positive results of working together across borders.

This year, the EC Day event took place at two different locations, namely in the Rakičan mansion and in the Murska Sobota Expano. Five interesting projects were showcased at the event, i.e. Horse based tourism-HBT, Back in the day, Dual Transfer, Green Reg and Green line. The key message of the event was that regions can better tackle common challenges if they join forces and work together across borders.

For more information, please visit the official website of the Cooperation Programme Interreg V-A Slovenia-Hungary.