Skip to main content

Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs Travel Advice: COVID-19

As the probability of infection with COVID-19 remains present, Slovenian citizens wishing to travel abroad are advised to follow the news on the spread of the virus, especially on the planned route, to check the conditions of entry into the country of destination, and to comply with local rules. Slovenian citizens returning from abroad are advised to follow the recommendations of the National Institute of Public Health (NIJZ).

Current information on border crossings, measures at the border upon entry into Slovenia and the lists of countries can be found on the special page Border Crossing.

Third-country nationals requiring Schengen visa (Airport Transit Visa - type A and Short-term visa - type C) to enter France, Latvia, Hungary or the Netherlands, may, as of 1 May 2008, apply for such a visa at the Common Application Centre Ljubljana.

The relevant embassies are therefore no longer authorised to issue Schengen visas in the Republic of Slovenia. The cooperation between the Member States is based on the principles and rules of Schengen representation.

The purpose of the Common Application Centre is to:

  • Facilitate and speed up the procedures for short-stay visas for third-country nationals;
  • Enable rationalisation of visa operation for the Member States, since in the near future, the acquisition of biometric data will become mandatory for third-country nationals, bringing about higher costs for individual Member States.